The National Green Tribunal (NGT) , Environment

Effective and expeditious disposal of cases that are related to protection and conservation of the environmental, forests and other natural resources.

To give reliefs and compensations for any damages caused to persons and properties.

To handle various environmental disputes that involve multi-disciplinary issues.

The National Green Tribunal (NGT) comprises three major bodies namely: the Chairperson, the Judicial Members and the Expert Members. there should be a minimum of 10 and a maximum of 20 fulltime Judicial as well as Expert members in the NGT. All these members are required to hold the office for a period of five years and are not eligible for reappointment.

The Chairperson of National Green Tribunal (NGT) is appointed by the Central Government of India in accordance with the Chief Justice of India. A Selection Committee is formed by the central government of India for the appointment of Judicial Members and Expert Members.(NGT) developed as an important body for regulation of the environment and passing strict orders on issues related to pollution, deforestation, waste management, etc. Some of the major powers of National Green Tribunal include:

NGT provides a way for the evolution of environmental jurisprudence through the development of an alternative dispute resolution mechanism.

It helps in reduction of the litigation burden on environmental matters in the higher courts.

NGT provides a faster solution for various environment-related disputes that are less formal and less expensive.

It curbsenvironment-damaging activities. NGT ensures the strict observance of the Environment Impact Assessment process.

NGT provides reliefs and compensations for any damages caused to persons and properties.

The National Green Tribunal resolves various civil cases under the following seven laws that are related to the environment:

1. Water Act (Prevention and Control of Pollution), 1974
2. Water Cess Act (Prevention and Control of Pollution), 1977
3. Forest Act (Conservation), 1980
4. Air Act (Prevention and Control of Pollution), 1981
5. Environment (Protection) Act, 1986
6. Public Liability Insurance Act, 1991
7. Biological Diversity Act, 2002

Tags: Environmnet

More Similar Posts

November 2021
Most Viewed Posts