An emblem by description is “a heraldic instrument or symbolic object as a unique insignia of a nation,
organization, or family”. The National Emblem of a nation is a seal that is earmarked for official
purposes and orders the highest admiration and loyalty. For a nation, it is a symbol of power and
signifies the foundation of its constitutional values. The Indian National Emblem was accepted on 26
January 1950 by Madhav Sawhney
  • The National Emblem of India is an adaptation of the Lion Capital of Asoka at Sarnath.
  • The Ashoka pillar has four lions seated back to back which imply power, courage, confidence and pride.
    Other animals demonstrated on the pillar are horse, bull, elephant, and lion.
    The elephant denotes Buddha‟s outset (the dream of a white elephant entering her womb dreamt by
    Buddha‟s mother at the time of Buddha‟s conception).
    The bull symbolizes Zodiac sign of Buddha- Taurus.
  • The horse signifies Buddha‟s horse which he rode at the time of departing from the citadel.
    The lion indicates enlightenment.
  • All the Ashoka Pillars were carved by craftsmen from the same area using stone from Chunar and
  • Each pillar is around 40 to 50 feet in height, and weighing up to 50 tons each, were pulled to where they
    were raised.
  •  Only six pillars with animal capitals and nineteen pillars persist with inscriptions.
  •  The engravings on the pillars described proclamations about morality grounded on Buddhist doctrines.
  •  The slogan „Satyameva Jayate‟- “The Truth Alone Triumphs” is engraved below the National Emblem.
  •  Slogan „Satyameva Jayate‟ is a quote from the Mundaka Upanishad, the closing part of the holy Hindu
  •  National Emblem is the official seal of the President of India and Central and State Governments and an
    inevitable part of the official letterhead of the Government of India.
  •  National Emblem is a part of all Indian currency and the National Passport of the Republic of India.
The profile of the Lion Capital showing three lions mounted on the abacus with a Dharma Chakra in
the centre, a bull on the right and a galloping horse on the left, and outlines of Dharma Chakras on
the extreme right and left was adopted as the State Emblem of India on January 26, 1950.
The motto “Satyameva Jayate”-Truth alone Triumphs—written in Devanagari script below the profile
of the Lion Capital is part of the State Emblem of India.
Tags: Uncategorized

More Similar Posts

August 2022
Most Viewed Posts